top of page
About the Author:

Learn about me, Kelsey!

Search By Tag:
Stay In The Know:

If you want to help fund my baking endeavours you can donate via the Paypal link above, Thanks so much!

Banana Strawberry Muffins


These came about because I realized that I didn't have anything quick and easy to grab at 5am before heading to work. They're not too bad for you, emphasis on the "too bad" and they're very delicious. I used a recipe inspired by The Recipe Critics blog, but I changed things up just a little bit.

The proportions I provide made 9 full sized muffins here in Denver. I know that's a random number but I was attempting to make less than 12 because I didn't think we could get through them all in time. I'm also going to advise that if you make these you store them in the fridge in an air tight container. I say this for several reasons one of which is because I'm scared from a rather disgusting muffin experience last year when they were left out for a few days. Imagine what you will...

This time of year is my favorite because the fruit is so damn good. The peaches and nectarines become sweet, mango starts being sold at Trader Joes, and the berries get cheaper! All great things. I'm home sick today with a stomach bug that will hopefully go away soon but am happy to have a moment to blog again!

These muffins are definitely easy to make, have a nice crunch on the top, and a fruity inside to dig into.

 

Ingredients:

This recipe makes 9 full sized muffins.

For the Crunch Topping:

  • 1/4 cup oats

  • 1/2 tbsp. brown sugar

  • 1 tbsp. honey

  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

  • 1 tbsp. melted butter (would be fine to use oil)

For the Muffins:

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened in microwave

  • 1/2 cup sugar

  • 1 egg

  • 1.5 mashed bananas

  • 1 cup flour

  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

  • 1/4 tsp. salt

  • 3/4 cup chopped strawberries coated in small amount of flower

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425F. Place 9 cupcake liners in a cupcake pan.

2. Begin by making the crunchy topping by combining all the ingredients in a small bowl. Mixing with a spoon should be just fine.

3. In a larger bowl, using a soft spatula combine the very soft butter with the sugar until uniform. Add in egg and mashed bananas and mix until combined.

4. In another large bowl, sift flour, baking soda, and salt and mix together.

5. Slowly combine flour mixture into wet ingredients just until combined. Fold in flour coated strawberries.

6. Pour batter into prepared cupcake liners and fill 80-90% of the way. Divide crunchy topping onto muffins (about 1 tbsp. per muffin).

7. Bake at 425F for 5 minutes, then rotate the pan and turn down the temperature to 350F and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Happy Baking!

bottom of page